Share on FacebookGoogle+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on PinterestEmail to someoneshare on Tumblr

Sommer und Musik passen genauso gut zusammen wie Erdbeeren und Sahne! Wen wundert es da, dass zu dieser Jahreszeit besonders viele Musikfestivals stattfinden? Obwohl das bekannteste Festival der Geschichte sicherlich 1969 in Woodstock veranstaltet wurde, war es weder das erste und schon gar nicht das letzte. Im Gegenteil: In den zurückliegenden Jahrzehnten hat die Musikfestivalszene wieder ordentlich Fahrt aufgenommen. Genau der richtige Zeitpunkt für eine Liste der größten und wichtigsten Festivals weltweit. Schreib sie auf jeden Fall auf Deine Liste und besuche mindestens eines dieser legendären Festivals in Deinem Leben

Blog Festivals Interim V6

Burning Man Festival Nevada USA

Auch wenn das Burning Man kein reines Musikfestival ist, kann es sehr wohl als so etwas wie der Heilige Gral aller Festivals angesehen werden und schafft es deshalb ganz oben auf unsere Liste. Jedes Jahr versammeln sich Ende August 50.000 Menschen (mehr Tickets werden nicht verkauft) zum einwöchigen Zelten in der Black Rock Wüste Nevadas. Das Burning Man ist im Jahre 1986 entstanden und die Philosophie dieses einzigartigen Events ist es, den Menschen wunderbare Erfahrungen zu bescheren, die den Geist beflügeln, soziale Probleme adressieren und ein Gefühl von Gemeinschaft, Kultur und persönlichem Engagement erschaffen sollen. Das ganze Jahr über helfen ehrenamtliche Mitarbeiter und Mitarbeiterinnen aus der ganzen Welt, um das Burning Man Festival in seinem Glanz erstrahlen zu lassen, damit es am letzten Montag im August seine „Pforten” öffnen kann.

Geld ist auf dem Burning Man verboten, Du kannst dort nichts kaufen, sondern musst alles nötige mitbringen. Das Festival wird oft als ein Ort beschrieben, an dem Mad Max und Woodstock aufeinander treffen. Das Festivalgelände befindet sich auf einem ausgetrockneten See inmitten der Wüste. Riesige Skulpturen schmücken die Landschaft – und gehen jede Nacht in Flammen auf. Zum Abschluss des Events wird eine gigantische Figur aus Holz  verbrannt, die dem Festival seinen Namen gibt. Die Tickets sind sehr beliebt und schnell ausverkauft. In April findet Africaburn, eine Art Schwester des Burning Man Festivals, statt. Weitere Infos findest Du hier.

V4 Summer Music festivals

Tomorrowland, Boom, Belgien

Das Tommorrowland ist ein großes Elektronik-Festival, das in Boom, nahe Antwerpen in Belgien stattfindet. Es wurde 2005 gegründet und hat sich seitdem weltweit einen Namen gemacht. Stell Dir das Tommorrowland als eine Mischung aus einem Vergnügungspark und einer musikalischen Explosion vor. Dein Alter spielt hier überhaupt keine Rolle: Jung und Alt tanzen hier gemeinsam und das macht einen Teil des Zaubers aus.

V3 Summer Music festivals

Glastonbury Festival, UK

Das Glastonbury ist wahrscheinlich das größte, unter freiem Himmel stattfindende Musik- und Kunstfestival der Welt und dient als Vorreiter für alle Festivals, die nach ihm entstanden sind. Das Besondere am Glastonbury ist, dass es mehrere Festivals in sich vereint und neben Musik auch weitere Kunstformen eine wichtige Rolle spielen: Tanz, Literatur, Theater um nur einige zu nennen. Das Festival hat klein angefangen, aber ist mittlerweile innerhalb weniger Stunden ausverkauft. Und das aus gutem Grund, denn wer dorthin geht betritt eine riesige Zeltstadt, in der sich das Leben etwas freier anfühlt. Ein wahrlich unvergessliches Erlebnis!

Summer Music festivals

Sziget Festival, Budapest, Ungarn

Sziget gilt als eines der größten multikulturellen Events Europas. Es fand 1993 zum ersten Mal statt und zieht heutzutage knapp 400.000 Menschen aus 70 Ländern an. Falls Du auf der Suche nach dem ultimativen Festival-Urlaubs-Erlebnis bist – inklusive non-stop Party, großartigen Live-Konzerten und einer wunderschönen Stadt in unmittelbarer Nähe – dann ist Sziget genau das richtige für Dich. Weitere Infos findest Du hier.

Sziget Blog Festivals

Ibiza Closing Parties, Spanien

Das Beste kommt meistens zum Schluss – zumindest auf Ibiza. Die Insel wird immer ein Mekka für Musik-Liebhaber aus der ganzen Welt sein, da die besten Djs in den hiesigen Clubs auflegen. Doch der September ist geradezu magisch auf dieser Insel: Die Sommerurlaubstouristen verlassen Ibiza langsam und übrig bleiben nur diejenigen, die wegen der Musik auf Ibiza sind. Viele Clubs erweitern ihre Tanzflächen unter dem Sternenhimmel, damit auch möglichst viele Menschen die Musik genießen können. Die Ibiza Closing Parties starten Ende August und finden den gesamten September über statt.

V5 Summer Music festivals

Coachella, Kalifornien, USA

Das Pearl Jam-Konzert von 1993, an dem 25.000 Menschen teilnahmen gilt als die Geburtsstunde des Coachella Valley Arts and Music Festivals. Um den Ticketvertrieb Ticketmaster zu boykottieren, wählte das Management von Pearl Jam den heißesten und trockensten Ort der USA als ihren Veranstaltungsort aus: Den Indio’s Empire Polo Club, der einige Autostunden von den nächstgelegenen Großstädten entfernt liegt. Der August stellte sich jedoch schnell als zu heiß zum Feiern heraus, so dass Coachella mittlerweile Mitte bis Ende April stattfindet. Das Wahrzeichen des Festivals ist ein voll funktionstüchtiges Riesenrad. Das Festival war allerdings nicht immer so beliebt wie heute. Mittlerweile kommen 200.000 Menschen zu dem Event, denn das Line Up kann sich jedes Jahr sehen lassen: Größen der Musikszene wie David Guetta, Afrojack oder Tiesto geben sich dort die Ehre. Einen sehr guten Eindruck von der einzigartigen Atmosphäre auf dem Coachella Festival gibt Dir das Video und weitere Infos findest Du hier.

This post is also available in: Englisch Holländisch Spanisch

Related posts

Leave a Comment

Error: Please check your entries!

Share on FacebookGoogle+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on PinterestEmail to someoneshare on Tumblr

Summer and music go together like strawberries and cream so it is no wonder that this is the time of the year that most music festivals take place. And although the most famous and most talked about festival in history was probably Woodstock in America in 1969, it was certainly not the first. And for all we know now it wasn’t the last. On the contrary: in the last few decades the popularity of the whole music festival scene has taken flight big time. So it is time for a list, a festival bucket list, of big and famous music events all over the world. Make sure they’re on your list and try to visit at least one of them once in your lifetime…

Blog Festivals Interim V6

Burning Man Festival Nevada USA

Although it is not strictly a music only festival, this event could very well be the holy grail of festivals worldwide and for that reason tops our festival bucket list. By the end of August each year more than 50.000 (more tickets will not be sold) festival fans will spend a week camping in the Black Rock desert in Nevada. The philosophy of the Burning Man Festival, which originated in 1986, is to bring experiences to people in grand, awe-inspiring and joyful ways that lift the human spirit, address social problems and inspire a sense of culture, community and personal engagement. Throughout the year volunteers from all over the world build the burning man world in all its splendid glory and on the last Monday of the month of August it opens its ‘doors’.

Money is forbidden here; you will not be able to buy anything so you must bring everything you will need (food, transportation, tents etcetera) for the week-long festival that is often described as the place “where Mad Max meets Woodstock”. The festival’s site, on a dried-up lake bed, is a desert landscape with giant sculptures that are burned each night of the festival. The week-long annual Burning Man festival comes to a conclusion when the huge wooden man which gives the event its name, is set on fire. Tickets are enormously popular and often sold out within no time. But in April you can also visit Africaburn, one of its sister events. Want to find out more about what is exactly is? Visit this link: BURNING MAN

V4 Summer Music festivals

Tomorrowland

Tommorrowland is a large electronic music festival held in Belgium. The festival takes place in the town of Boom, Belgium close to the city of Antwerp and was organized for the first time in 2005. It has since become one of the most notable global music festivals and is a beautiful cross between a luxury amusement park and a musical explosion. Age is no matter here, young and old mix and that is part of the attraction.

V3 Summer Music festivals

Glastonbury Festival, UK

It is probably the largest outdoor music and performing arts festival in the world and a blueprint for all the festivals that have followed in its footsteps. The difference is that Glastonbury has all the best aspects of being at a festival in one astonishing bundle. More than other popular festivals, Glastonbury incorporates several types of art: dance, poetry, theatre and more. Although it started small, the festival now sells out in hours. And with good reason because going to Glastonbury is lik going to an alien country. Coming to Glastonbury you’ll have to be prepared for some travel and need to be willing to wait in a queue to get in. But once you’ve overcome those challenges you enter a huge tented city where the rules of society are a little more free. A once in a lifetime experience as some say.

Summer Music festivals

Sziget Festival, Hungary

Sziget is one of the biggest multicultural events of Europe. It started in 1993 and attracts close to 400 000 fans from over 70 countries to a beautiful island in the heart of Budapest. If you’re looking for the ultimate festival-holiday experience with non-stop party, great live concerts and a beautiful city to visit at a stone’s throw away, this is the place to go. More info here: SZIGET

Sziget Blog Festivals

Ibiza Closing Parties, Spain

The best is nearly aways saved for last and this might ring true when it concerns Ibiza.
Ibiza will always attract music lovers in Summer thanks in part to the big venues like Pasha, Ushaia, Space, Amnesia and the likes where the best DJ’s of the world show up to run a gig. But in September the island enters magical time. August crowds are gone and generally the people that will visit the island are here for the music. The production is incredible, many venues open up outdoor arenas to give a unique clubbing experience and boost the numbers of people who can enjoy their Ibiza Closing Party. Expect a slightly more mature crowd than you experience in the middle of the season as Ibiza veterans come out purely for closings. Ibiza Closing Parties start at the end of August and run throughout September.

V5 Summer Music festivals

Coachella, USA

In 1993 Pearl Jam threw a concert for 25.0000 people that would inadvertently result in the birth of the Coachella Valley Arts and Music Festival. As part of a boycott against Ticketmaster, the Pearl jam management chose a venue for their concert in one of America’s hottest and driest locations at a secluded location: Indio’s Empire Polo Club which is several hours driving from major city centers. Indio proved to be fitting for a large music festival: Coachella. Although August proved to be too hot so now the festival takes place mid to end of April each year with a fully functioning Ferris Wheel as a recognizable landmark. Since then the festival has had many ups and downs not always being the highest grossing event of its kind like it is now with roughly 200.000 visitors each year. Line up always feature big names like Afrojack, Aviccii, to Davide Guetta, Swedish House Mafia and Tiesto and everything in between. COACHELLA Get a wonderful impression of what the atmosphere is like, in the video below…

This post is also available in: Dutch Spanish German

Related posts

Leave a Comment

Error: Please check your entries!