Share on FacebookGoogle+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on PinterestEmail to someoneshare on Tumblr

En plus d’être mère, auteur, yogi, porte-parole et mannequin, Christy Turlington Burns est la preuve vivante que donner est un acte empreint de beauté. En 2010, elle lance l’association à but non lucratif Every Mother Counts dont l’objectif est de contribuer à une grossesse et un accouchement plus sûrs pour les femmes du monde entier. La même année, elle réalise le documentaire No Woman, No Cry sur la mortalité néonatale.

Dans les années 1980, Christy Turlington fait partie du groupe très glamour et élitiste des top models. Perfection physique et style de vie prestigieux vont de pair. Après presque 30 ans de carrière, Christy Turlington Burns s’emploie à présent à mener une vie équilibrée et à redonner à la communauté. Philanthropie, bénévolat, éducation et charité occupent depuis longtemps une place importante dans sa vie. En 2010, elle lance l’association à but non lucratif Every Mother Counts qui vise à réduire le nombre de femmes succombant à des complications pendant la grossesse et l’accouchement (voir l’encadré ci-contre). En 2013, Christy réalise le documentaire Every Mile, Every Mother, qui porte sur la participation d’Every Mother Count aux épreuves de course de fond afin de souligner le problème posé par la distance dans l’accès aux soins. Mariée au réalisateur Edward Burns, elle est également mère de Grace (12 ans) et Finn (9 ans). « C’est en devenant maman que j’ai apprécié d’être femme », confie-t-elle à Parenting Magazine. « Les femmes ont une capacité illimitée à donner et aimer, une force d’émancipation sans pareille. Ce qui me brise le cœur c’est qu’elles ne le réaliseront pas toutes. Mon souhait le plus cher est que ces filles, femmes, mères puissent s’émanciper et prendre soin d’elles-mêmes et de leur famille. »

EVERY MOTHER COUNTS

Every Mother Counts est une association à but non lucratif visant à réduire le nombre de femmes mourant à la suite de complications pendant la grossesse et l’accouchement. Pour ce faire, elle sensibilise le public au fait qu’au XXIe siècle ces femmes continuent de mourir alors que 98 % des décès pourraient être évités. Elle veut encourager les gens à s’impliquer et agir en les sensibilisant via les réseaux sociaux, les évènements sportifs, le bénévolat ou l’achat d’un produit générant un don reversé à l’association. L’association repose sur la conviction que les gestes sont plus éloquents que la parole et qu’en prenant des mesures concrètes nous pouvons sensibiliser les gens et mobiliser les ressources nécessaires pour aider ces femmes. Les fonds recueillis grâce à des dons individuels et des partenariats produits sont réinvestis dans des programmes qui influent directement sur l’un des trois obstacles majeurs à la santé maternelle : le manque d’éducation, le transport et les fournitures. Every Mother Counts est actuellement active dans plusieurs pays à travers le monde, y compris les États-Unis, la Tanzanie, Haïti, l’Inde, l’Ouganda et le Népal, et soutient neuf programmes différents. (everymothercounts.org)

Chez Every Mother Counts, les gestes sont plus éloquents que la parole ; en prenant des mesures concrètes, nous pouvons sensibiliser les gens et mobiliser les ressources nécessaires pour aider ces femmes

Apaiser L’esprit et le corps

Christy a toujours eu l’intention de retourner à l’université ; à 26 ans, c’est chose faite. « C’est la meilleure chose que j’ai jamais faite, en termes de connaissance de soi. J’ai réalisé que je pouvais faire ce que je voulais en allant de l’avant. » Diplômée de la Gallatin School of Individualized Studies (NYU) en 1999, Christy est titulaire d’une licence d’histoire comparée des religions et de philosophie orientale. Yoga, méditation et Ayurveda l’aident à trouver cet équilibre primordial, tant sur le plan physique que mental. « Le yoga m’a mis en contact avec l’Ayurveda », a-t-elle confié. « Mon régime alimentaire et ma façon d’appréhender le monde ont progressivement évolué. J’ai assisté à ma première séance de yoga à 18 ans. J’admirais la discipline et la concentration. Il me fallait cette touche positive dans la vie pour surmonter mon style de vie erratique. Ça a été, et ça restera pour moi, tant sur le plan personnel que professionnel, une source d’énergie et d’inspiration inestimable. »

Modèle de comportement

Grâce à son initiative mondiale, Christy a été désignée par le Timecomme l’une des 100 personnalités les plus influentes de 2014, elle a reçu le titre de Femme de l’année 2013 par le magazine Glamourainsi que celui de l’Esprit le plus créateur de 2013 par la Fast Company. Son défi consiste à maintenir un équilibre entre vie personnelle et vie professionnelle, tout en accomplissant sa mission de contribution durable. Quelle source d’inspiration !

This post is also available in: Anglais Néerlandais Espagnol Allemand Suédois

Leave a Comment

Error: Please check your entries!

Share on FacebookGoogle+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on PinterestEmail to someoneshare on Tumblr

As well as being a mother, writer, yogi, advocate and model, Christy Turlington Burns is living proof that giving is beautiful. In 2010 she launched Every Mother Counts, a non-profit organization dedicated to making pregnancy and childbirth safe for mothers worldwide. The same year, she also directed a documentary about maternal mortality, called No Woman, No Cry.

At the height of the ’80s Christy Turlington was a member of an extremely glam – and elite – group of gorgeous women known as the “supermodels”. Physical perfection and a glamorous lifestyle went hand in hand. But with nearly 30 years in an industry built on beauty, these days Christy Turlington Burns is focusing on maintaining a balanced life, and giving back. Philanthropy and service, education and charity have long been important parts of Christy’s life. In 2010 she launched Every Mother Counts, a non-profit organization that is working to reduce the number of women who die due to complications during pregnancy and childbirth (see box on facing page). In 2013, Christy directed the documentary film Every Mile, Every Mother, which explores Every Mother Counts’ participation in long-distance running to highlight distance as a barrier for women to receive quality care. She is also the busy mother of two children – Grace, 12, and Finn, 9 – and is married to filmmaker Edward Burns. ‘Becoming a mom has made me appreciate being a woman above and beyond anything else,’ she told Parenting magazine. ‘I think the best thing about being a woman is that we have this unlimited capacity to give and to love – an incredibly empowering realization. What breaks my heart is that not every woman and girl will realize this in her lifetime. My wish is for every girl, every woman and every mother to be empowered, to care for herself and to care for her family to the best of her ability.’

EVERY MOTHER COUNTS

Every Mother Counts is a non-profit organization working to reduce the number of women who die due to complications during pregnancy and childbirth. It does this by raising awareness and educating audiences about the fact that even in the 21st century, these deaths still take place, and up to 98% of them are preventable. Its goal is to inspire every individual it reaches to get involved and take action. Whether that is raising awareness through social media, running, volunteer events, or even buying a product that generates a donation. The organization is based on the belief that actions speak louder than words and that by taking action it can raise both awareness and resources for women who need help. Funds raised through individual donations and product partnerships go into programs that directly impact one of three critical barriers to maternal health: lack of education, transportation and supplies. Every Mother Counts is currently active in several countries around the world – including the US, Tanzania, Haiti, India, Uganda and Nepal – and supports nine different programs. (everymothercounts.org)

At Every Mother Counts we believe that actions speak louder than words and that by taking action we can raise both awareness and resources for women who need our help

FOCUSING THE MIND AND BODY

Christy has said that she had always intended to go back to school, and at 26, she knew she was ready. ‘So I just did it. It was the best thing I ever did, and it gave me so much self-knowledge. It allowed me to see that I could do whatever I wanted to do going forward.’ In 1999 Christy graduated from NYU’s Gallatin School of Individualized Studies, where she earned a BA in Comparative Religion and Eastern Philosophy. Christy uses yoga, meditation and Ayurveda to help her find that all-important balance in life – both physical and mental. ‘Through my practice of yoga I was drawn to Ayurveda, and also to things that are generally better for me,’ she has said. ‘My diet, and also the way that I respond to the world and the world to me, has gradually changed. ‘I went to my first yoga class at 18. I admired the discipline and focus. I decided I wanted that positive focus in my life to help me cope with the erratic lifestyle my career perpetuates. It was, and remains, an invaluable source of energy and inspiration for me, and all of my efforts in life, both personal and professional.’

MODEL BEHAVIOR

As a result of her global advocacy work Christy was named one of Time’s 100 Most Influential People in 2014, Glamour magazine’s Woman of The Year in 2013, and one of Fast Company’s Most Creative Minds in 2013. Her challenge is to keep her personal and professional lives in balance, while fulfilling her mission to make a lasting impact on the world. What an inspiration!

This post is also available in: Dutch Spanish French German Swedish

Related posts

Leave a Comment

Error: Please check your entries!