Share on FacebookGoogle+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on PinterestEmail to someoneshare on Tumblr

 „Kultiviere Einsamkeit, um zu mehr Aufmerksamkeit zu gelangen” – R.H. Barton

Stille ist der neue Luxus

Wenn Du magst, kannst Du sogar noch ein Stück weiter gehen und Dich einem Schweige-Retreat in einem buddhistischen Kloster unterziehen. Du lässt Dein weltliches Leben, Dein Ego und Deine Bindungen für einige Zeit hinter Dir, um Dich auf die völlige Stille einzulassen. Immer mehr Menschen lassen sich auf diese Herausforderung ein, um dem hektischen, durchgeplanten Alltag zu entfliehen und die innere Stimme wiederzufinden. Wie oft nimmst Du Dir am Tag die Zeit, an Dich, Deine Wünsche und persönlichen Bedürfnisse zu denken?

Silence retreat

And you could take it a step further if you wish. Enter a silence retreat in a Buddhist monastery where you will temporarily give up on your worldly life, your attachments, ego and desires for the profound experience of absorbing complete silence. More and more people are willing to try this challenge. Possibly as a reaction to our lives being so over-scheduled and busy that we find it hard to connect with our inner voice. And that is often very true. Honestly, how often do you find or take the time these days to really think about you, your desires and your personal needs?

Gängige Praxis

In Asien ist es nicht ungewöhnlich, sich ein- oder sogar mehrmals im Leben hinter die Mauern eines buddhistischen Klosters zurück zu ziehen, um in Stille ein einfaches Leben zu leben. In Thailand ist es Tradition, dass Männer 3 Monate in einem Kloster leben und sich an den einfachen Lebensrhythmus und die Stille der Mönche anpassen. Durch das Leben im Kloster wird Dir ein Spiegel vorgehalten, der dabei hilft, die Antworten auf die wichtigen Fragen im Leben in einem selbst zu suchen. Diese spirituelle, jahrhundertealte Praxis spielt eine wichtige Rolle im Leben. Manche Menschen gehen für kürzere oder längere Aufenthalte ins Kloster, um zu lernen, ein besserer Mensch zu werden und ein tieferes Verständnis für den Sinn des Lebens zu erlangen. Dabei gibt es keine strikten Regeln, die befolgt werden müssen, da der Schweigeaufenthalt unabhängig von religiösen Überzeugungen durchgeführt werden kann. Die Reise, auf die Du Dich durch das Schweigen begibst, ist Deine eigene.

3 Silence of the Monks 15th May 2015

Libe im Augenblick

Ein Rückzug ins Kloster wird als eine Zeit psychologischer Transformationen beschrieben, während der Du z.B. durch lange Meditationen lernst, mit der Stille in Dir Deinen Frieden zu schließen. Die Kunst der Meditation zu beherrschen, bringt Dich Deinem wahren Kern näher. Buddhistische Mönche führen all ihre Tätigkeiten mit Bedacht und Achtsamkeit aus – dadurch finden sie täglich Ruhe und Frieden. Dabei ist es wichtig, sich nicht von der Vergangenheit beeinflussen zu lassen und auch keine Angst vor der Zukunft zu haben, sondern im Hier und Jetzt zu leben.

Spirituelle Reise

Das Leben im Kloster ist eine spirituelle Reise, die dabei hilft, die eigene Persönlichkeit weiter zu entwickeln und herauszufinden, was im Leben wirklich zählt. Eine Methode, um dieser Frage näher zu kommen, ist die Meditation. Dadurch bringst Du mehr Klarheit, Verständnis und Fokus in Dein Leben und die Meditation lehrt Dich, Frieden und Glück in Dir selbst statt in materiellen Dingen zu suchen. Auch die Wissenschaft hat sich dem Phänomen des Schweigens angenommen und herausgefunden, dass unsere Wahrnehmung und Achtsamkeit gesteigert wird, wenn wir für einige Zeit nicht sprechen. Die Atmung wird bewusster und tiefer, Seh- und Hörfähigkeit wird gesteigert und sogar Gedanken, Intentionen und Gefühle werden stärker wahrgenommen. All dies spricht für ein Leben ohne all die materiellen Dinge, die gar nicht wirklich notwendig sind.

Aber das authentische Leben im Kloster ist nichts für schwache Nerven. Lass Dich von Bildern einsamer Bergkuppen im Himalaya mit meditierenden Mönchen im Lotussitz nicht verwirren: Das ist nur ein kleiner Teil des Klosterlebens. 90% bestehen hingegen aus harter Arbeit, ohne weltliche Annehmlichkeiten, stundenlangem, bewegungslosem Sitzen, dem Erledigen von Hausarbeiten und dem Entdecken Deines wahren Ichs. Es ist ein einfaches, bescheidenes Leben, das die Einsamkeit willkommen heißt. In dieser Stille sollst Du spirituelles Wachstum erfahren und der Freiheit ein Stück näher kommen.

Schau Dir den Erfahrungsbericht an, um herauszufinden, was es heißt, einen Tag als Mönch zu leben.

Aber welche mentalen Veränderungen kann Dir die Einsamkeit in einem abgeschiedenen Kloster tatsächlich bescheren?

Geschärftes Feingefühl

Die Stille aktiviert Bereiche im Gehirn, die Dich sensibler werden lassen und Dich Deiner Atmung, Gedanken und Emotionen näher bringen sowie Deinen Geruchs-, Seh- und Hörsinn schärfen.

Zuwachs an Produktivität
Es ist kein Geheimnis, das Produktivität in unserer Gesellschaft eine wichtige Rolle spielt. Viele Menschen gehen deshalb stets an ihre Grenzen, ohne sich eine Auszeit zu nehme und riskieren dabei ihre Gesundheit. Allerdings ist es essentiell, dem Geist Ruhe zu gönnen, damit das Gehirn neue Energie tanken kann und dadurch viel effizienter und produktiver wird.

Verbessertes Gedächtnis
Ein Spaziergang durch die abgeschiedene Natur führt zu einem Wachstum in der Hippocampus-Region des Gehirns, was wiederum ein besseres Gedächtnis zur Folge hat. Die Natur regt das räumliche Erinnerungsvermögen an – genau wie früher, als Menschen noch Jäger und Sammler waren und es überlebenswichtig war, sich daran zu erinnern, wo Gefahren lauern könnten und wo Nahrung zu finden ist.

2 Silence of the Monks 15th May 2015
Gehirnwachstum
Das Gehirn ist ein sehr komplexes Organ, das Phasen der Entspannung braucht – genau wie ein Muskel. Studien der UCLA  haben gezeigt, dass Meditation – das Sitzen in der Stille – dabei hilft, Informationen besser zu verarbeiten. 10 Minuten Meditation pro Tag reichen bereits, um die grauen Zellen im Gehirn wachsen zu lassen – also im nächsten Stau einfach an eine friedliche Landschaft (z.B. Regenwald, fallende Schneeflocken, Strände) denken und die Gedanken zur Ruhe kommen lassen.

Disziplin aufbauen
Zuerst wird Meditation wahrscheinlich eher abschreckend wirken, denn Du sollst dabei so still wie möglich sitzen. Dabei wird nach kurzer Zeit sicherlich irgendetwas anfangen zu jucken oder zu piksen. Durch Disziplin wirst Du lernen, diese Ablenkungen los zu lassen. Mehr noch: Durch diese Disziplin und Konzentration wirst Du zum Beobachter Deiner eigenen Gedanken. Es fühlt sich sehr gut an, nicht jedem ablenkenden Gedanken nachgeben zu müssen, sondern sich bewusst zu entscheiden, welche Gedanken Du in Deinem Kopf haben möchtest.

Glücklicher werden
Stille bringt unsere Aufmerksamkeit ins Hier und Jetzt und nur in diesem Augenblick ist konkretes Glück erfahrbar.

Selbst-Bewusstsein schaffen

Durch die Stille wird Raum für Selbst-Bewusstsein geschaffen, wodurch Du die Kontrolle über Deine Taten erlangst, anstatt Dich von diesen kontrollieren zu lassen. Die äußeren Einflüsse werden langsam verstummen, so dass Du Deine innere Stimme besser hören kannst. Diese innere Stimme bestimmt über Deine Taten, denn Selbst-Bewusstsein führt letztendlich zur Kontrolle über das eigene Tun und das eigene Leben.

Es gibt unzählige Vorteile von Meditation und dem Leben in Stille, aber ganz einfach ist die Integration dieser Techniken nicht, zumal wir in unseren westlichen Gesellschaften mit diesen uralten Praktiken so wenig in Berührung kommen und sie das genaue Gegenteil zu unserer hektischen Lebensweise darstellen. Wir sind allerdings davon überzeugt, dass jeder von diesen Techniken profitieren kann. Vielleicht sollte Meditation bereits in Schulen unterrichtet werden, damit unsere Kinder schon in jungen Jahren mit der Stille und ihrer inneren Stimme in Kontakt kommen. Auf diesem Wege könnten sie bereits früh zu Frieden und Glück finden. Durch tägliche Meditation könnten wir die Welt zu einem besseren Ort machen.

This post is also available in: Englisch Holländisch Spanisch Französisch Schwedisch

Leave a Comment

Error: Please check your entries!

Share on FacebookGoogle+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on PinterestEmail to someoneshare on Tumblr

“Cultivate solitude as a place for paying attention” – R.H. Barton

Silence is the new luxury

And it looks like it is a new trend sweeping the globe, promoting mindfulness and meditation as a counterweight to the hectic and noisy world we live in today. We can book luxury hotels in far away places that will embrace and pamper you with solitude, silence and a minimum of external stimuli. All conceived to help you find your path to inner peace.

Silence retreat

And you could take it a step further if you wish. Enter a silence retreat in a Buddhist monastery where you will temporarily give up on your worldly life, your attachments, ego and desires for the profound experience of absorbing complete silence. More and more people are willing to try this challenge. Possibly as a reaction to our lives being so over-scheduled and busy that we find it hard to connect with our inner voice. And that is often very true. Honestly, how often do you find or take the time these days to really think about you, your desires and your personal needs?

Common practice

In Asia it is not uncommon to retreat within the silent and simple life of ancient monastery walls once or even multiple times during your life. In Thailand it is in fact a standard tradition for men to spend 3 months in a monastery adapting to the rhythm and simplicity of the silence of the monks. It is like holding a mirror up to yourself and being taught the wisdom to search for the answers on life’s important questions within yourself. This spiritual and ancient practice plays an important role in life. Some people retreat multiple times during their life for shorter or longer periods of time in an effort to learn how to be a better human being and find a deeper understanding. Not only to yourself but to others as well. There are no rules to follow here because it is not a religion. The journey you pursue is your own.

3 Silence of the Monks 15th May 2015

Live in the moment

Monastic sabbaticals are considered a period of great psychological transformation and a way of learning to be at peace with the silence within, by practicing extensive meditation sessions amongst others. Mastering the art of meditation enables you to get in touch with your true inner self and allows you to tap into your spiritual needs. The life of a Buddhist monk is one of concentration and mindfulness of every activity. They find calm and peace in their days. It is all about learning not to be bothered by events from your past or any anxieties about what the future will bring. Being in the present, and only there, is what really counts.

Spiritual journey

Monastic life is foremost a spiritual journey which enriches your personality with a deeper understanding of what you truly need in life and meditation is the means to do it. It brings more clarity to the events in your life, it breeds understanding and focus and teaches you to find peace and happiness without the need for material things. And even scientists have dived into the matter. They noted that not speaking for longer periods of time heightens awareness in other areas. This starts with breathing, and evolves towards sights, sounds, sensations, thoughts, intentions and emotions. It supports a life uncluttered by all the extras we gather constantly without a real need for them.

But the authentic monastic life is not for the faint hearted. Don’t be misled by views of breathtaking Himalaya’s mountain tops where you will sit contemplating, simply doing nothing. That is just the icing on the cake. Monastic life is 90% hard work filled with long days where a you are stripped from all worldly conveniences, won’t or hardly will speak, sit in silence without moving for hours on end, doing chores and getting to know the real you. It is a simple life that embraces solitude. And in this solitude of not communicating with others you shall experience spiritual growth and freedom.

Watch the personal experience of what it means to live your day as a monk.

So what can it further bring you mentally, this solitude in monastic seclusion?

Sharpens Sensitivity
As mentioned before it heightens your sensitivity in other brain areas like breathing sense of smell, sights sounds thoughts and emotions.

Increases Productivity
It is no secret that society today praises high productivity levels. So people tend to go on in full gear without taking a break and risking a burn out in the process. Never allowing your mind to find peace and stillness, is in fact counter productive. Silence is a great way to reenergize and reload the batteries. In turn this will make you more efficient and productive.

Improves memory
Combining solitude with a walk in nature causes brain growth in the hippocampus region, resulting in better memory. That is what research has proven. Apparently being in nature ignites our spatial memory just like it did in the days when humans were still hunters. memory was crucial for survival back in the days, you had to remember at least were predators could be expected and where you could collect your food.

2 Silence of the Monks 15th May 2015
Grow and sharpen your brain
The brain is a very complex organ that requires rest, just like muscles do. UCLA research showed that meditation -sitting in silence and mentally rest- improves the “folding” of the cortex and boosts our ability to process information. Reserving just 10 minutes a day to sit in your car and visualize a peaceful scenery (rainforest, snow-falling, beach) actually helps to thicken grey matter in your brain.

Building discipline
At first meditation will bring on discomfort. You will want to sit as still as possible and restrict your movements to an absolute minimum. Something will surely start to itch or ache. But it is in discipline that you can find the strength to let go of those distractions. More so the discipline will teach you to become an observer of your thoughts. And it builds strength when we consciously choose not to respond to every actionable thought.

Become a happier person
Silence brings our awareness back to the present. And it is in the present where concrete happiness is experienced.

Creates Self awareness
In silence, you make room for the self-awareness that allows you to be in control of your actions, rather than being controlled by them. Drowning external voices tunes you to your inner voice, and it is that inner voice that drives your actions. Self awareness eventually leads to control.

The benefits are plenty but it is certainly no walk in the park to begin with since we are so out of tune with this ancient practice in western society. But we believe it could benefit everyone at certain stages in their life. Maybe meditation should be taught to our children from an early age onwards. To ensure they incorporate the habit of silence and stillness to nurture their inner voice; find peace and calm. A daily ritual to make the world and all the people in it, a better place.

This post is also available in: Dutch Spanish French German Swedish

Related posts

Leave a Comment

Error: Please check your entries!