Share on FacebookGoogle+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on PinterestEmail to someoneshare on Tumblr

Le plaisir est la fleur qui passe et que l’on aime;
Le souvenir en est l’inaltérable odeur.
Stanislaus Jean de Boufflers – 1816

L’art antique du parfum

Les anciens Egyptiens furent à l’origine du parfum tel qu’on l’entend aujourd’hui. Il y a des milliers d’années de cela, ils brûlaient déjà du bois, des herbes et des résines pour libérer un parfum agréable afin d’apaiser les dieux. Cette substance aromatique appelée Per Fumum , signifie tout simplement : par la fumée.

Egyptian paperrol small half height

Un privilège exclusif

A l’origine, cette pratique était uniquement utilisée lors d’événements religieux. Mais au fil du temps, le parfum est devenu un luxe réservé à la famille royale qui le fit produire pour son usage exclusif. La légende raconte que Cléopâtre aurait séduit César, certes, grâce à sa beauté mais aussi à grand renfort d’huile parfumée.  D’ailleurs, quand le tombeau de Toutankhamon fut mis à jour, les archéologues y découvrir des récipients remplis d’eau parfumée visant sûrement à rendre son séjour dans l’au-delà plus agréable et parfumé.

Un véritable engouement

Ensuite, les Grecs ont perpétué ce voyage olfactif. Ils ont perfectionné les techniques des Egyptiens jusqu’à consommer des quantités extraordinaires de parfum ; ils ont même créé des parfums différents pour les différentes parties du corps ! Puis arriva un moment où le  parfum fut jugé comme étant surconsommé. Sa vente fut alors rationnée, sans succès. Le parfum est resté le produit le plus vendu dans la Grèce antique.

Nouvelles techniques, nouveaux ingrédients

Plus tard, la composition du parfum évolua , ainsi que son application.
Un chimiste mésopotamienne du nom de  Taputti est considéré comme le premier parfumeur au monde. Il excellait déjà dans l’art du parfum ; d’ailleurs, d’anciens sites de production de parfum datant de plus de 4000 ans ont été  récemment mis au jour.
Bien plus tard, c’est en Perse que la distillation à la vapeur fut inventée marquant le début d’une toute nouvelle période ; celle des parfums composés d’huiles extraites des fleurs.

Les Romains

Les Romains étaient également de fervents amateurs de parfumerie fine. L’encens fut très populaire pendant le règne de Néron qui, selon la légende, aurait brûlé plus d’encens que les Arabes ne pouvaient en fabriquer. Les Romains parfumaient leurs chevaux, leurs chiens, et même leurs murs et leurs sols. Malheureusement pour eux, Rituals n’existait pas encore, car nos bâtonnets parfumés auraient été d’une grande aide.

Le parfum aujourd’hui

Aujourd’hui, les parfumeurs réussissent à créer les parfums les plus innovants et les plus sensationnels. Dans un marché qui devrait excéder les 36 milliards de dollars en 2017, les enjeux commerciaux sont importants. Les meilleurs laboratoires de parfum et les experts en parfum imaginent ce que sera le parfum à succès de demain. Et s’il est vrai que les méthodes ont beaucoup progressé, et que nos parfums sont beaucoup plus raffinés et plus complexes que dans les temps anciens, les premiers ingrédients comme les fleurs, les herbes, les épices et les huiles restent encore très utilisées de nos jours.

Le Fragrance Lab

On ne change pas une équipe qui gagne. Le passé et les techniques éprouvées sont d’une grande valeur. C’est précisément pour cette raison que nous utilisons des ingrédients qui étaient déjà utilisés dans les rituels séculaires. Les meilleurs nez au monde les ont associés pour vous offrir le meilleur des deux mondes. www.rituals.com

Ce qui nous laisse une dernière question :

Quel est le parfum parfait selon vous ?

This post is also available in: Anglais Néerlandais Espagnol Allemand Suédois

Leave a Comment

Error: Please check your entries!

Share on FacebookGoogle+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on PinterestEmail to someoneshare on Tumblr

Pleasure is the flower that passes; remembrance, its lasting perfume.

The ancient art of perfume

The ancient Egyptians were most likely the founders of modern day perfumes. Thousands of years ago they would burn wood, herbs and resins over a fire to release a pleasant fragrance that would appease the gods. This aromatic substance was called Per Fumum, which translates in plain English: by smoke.

Egyptian paperrol small half height

Exclusivity

At first this practice was only reserved for religious events. But over time perfume became a luxury of the royals who had it manufactured for personal use. Legend states that Cleopatra seduced Caesar with her beauty and with copious amounts of perfumed oil and when the tomb of Tutankhamen was opened they retrieved containers filled with fragrant water. Undoubtedly to make his stay in the afterlife more pleasant and fragrant.

Perfume catches on

The Greeks soon followed in their fragrant footsteps. They improved the techniques of the Egyptians and used extraordinary amounts of perfume; they even created different fragrances for different body parts! At some moment in time it was considered overused. There was a restriction on the sale of perfume because of this sentiment, but it had no effect. Perfume remained the best sold product in ancient Greece.

New methods, new ingredients.

Later the composition of the fragrant substance would change, as well as the application.
A Mesopotamian chemist by the name of Taputti is considered to be the first named perfumer in the world. He mastered the art of perfume and traces of perfume factories at least 4000 years old have been recently found.
Fast forward to Persia where the steam distillation was invented. This started off an era that generated a whole new brand of perfumes created from oils extracted from flowers.

The Romans

The Romans had a nose for fine fragrances as well. Incense was highly popular during the reign of Nero who was said to have burnt more incense than the Arabs could manufacture. They would sprinkle their horses and dogs and even their walls and floors with perfume. Too bad they didn’t have Rituals in those days, a bottle of fragrance sticks would have done the trick with much more ease.

Today

Today perfumers create the most innovative and sensational perfumes you can imagine. In a market that is expected to exceed $36 billion in sales by 2017 you’re in if you can get a piece of the action. The finest fragrance laboratories and perfume specialist are constantly working out what the next new successful fragrance will be. And although the methods have greatly improved and the compositions of perfumes are much more refined and complex than in ancient times, those earliest ingredients like flowers, herbs, spices and oils are still being used today.

The Fragrance Lab

Never change a winning team. Past and best practices are valuable for a reason. And that is precisely why we use ingredients already used in ancient rituals thousands of years ago. And we have them composed and manufactured by the best perfumers in the world. www.rituals.com

Leaves us with only one question:
What do you find a perfect perfume?

This post is also available in: Dutch Spanish French German Swedish

Related posts

2 Comments

  • September 10, 2014 Reply

    Carla Bast

    Nice to read about the history of fragrances ,liked this post !
    Love Carla

  • September 12, 2014 Reply

    Valerie

    When I was 21 I became allergic to all perfumes, all soaps except Imperial Leather and a lot of make up products. It was awful. Over the years I kept trying different products but I could never find a perfume I didn’t have an allergic reaction to – until now, 44 years later, I have found Rituals. I can use all your perfumes and it is so wonderful. Thank you Rituals. I believe you do not use alcohol, which could be why it suits me. 🙂

Leave a Comment

Error: Please check your entries!